The Wallaroos have their eyes clearly on the future with an extended squad to train around the country.

New coach Dwayne Nestor has opted for some emerging talents, as the Aussies begin their preparations for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup.

Twenty-six of the 45 women come from outside last year’s World Cup squad, with Super W standouts like WA’s Courtney Hodder among the new faces.

Super W champions NSW had 16 players picked in the 45 woman squad, while Queensland has 11, WA 10, ACT six and two from Victoria.

There are some notable omissions, with four-time World Cup hooker Louise Burrows missing out, and 21-Test back Ash Hewson both missing from the squad.

Hewson announced her Wallaroos retirement earlier this week, after an 11-year career at international level.

Queensland youngster Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea is another big name missing, with the exciting rising star not eligible for Australian duties until March next year, having moved to Australia from New Zealand.

Players will train in their state bases ahead of two Tests against the Black Ferns in August and Nestor said it was a critical time for the squad. 

“We have named a squad with one eye on success in 2018 and one eye on developing players for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup,” he said.

“It’s important that we start blooding players now and getting them used to the expectations we have of players in the National Squad.

“For the squad members now is the time to lift their preparation and training, we have an historic opportunity in August and I know every squad member will be working hard towards that goal.”


2018 Wallaroos extended squad


Wynona Baice, QLD

Peta Cox, ACT

Toa Filmoehala, QLD

Evelyn Horomia, NSW

Hana Ngaha, QLD 

Emily Robinson, NSW

Violeta Tupuola, ACT 


Melissa Fatu, NSW

Liz Patu, QLD

Darryl Wickliffe, WA 


Millie Boyle, QLD

Alisha Hewitt, QLD

Kiri Lingman, QLD

Ana-Lise Sio, NSW

Rebecca Clough, WA 


Emily Chancellor, NSW

Ariana Kaiwai, NSW

Michelle Milward, ACT

Georgia O’Neill, ACT

Kirby Sefo, QLD

Vesinia Taufa, WA

Alice Tonumaivao, WA

Fi Jones, NSW 

No. 8

Grace Hamilton, NSW 

Victoria Latu, NSW

Tayla Stanford, ACT 


Georgia Cormick, VIC

Kendra Fell, WA

Cobie-Jane Morgan, NSW


Chloe Leaupepe, NSW

Trilleen Pomare, WA 


Katrina Barker, NSW

Tui Cope, WA

Crystal Maguire, NSW

Nareta Marsters, QLD

Huia Turoa, WA 


Courtney Hodder, WA

Mahalia Murphy, NSW

Zakiya Kereopa, WA

Atasi Lafai, NSW

Shanice Parker, NSW

Sarah Riordan, QLD 


Mhicca King, WA

Samantha Treherne, QLD

Samantha Wood, ACT