The Sydney University Football Club and the University of Queensland Rugby Club will renew an old rivalry when they meet for the Buildcorp Australian Club Championship bragging rights at the Sydney University Football Ground this Saturday, 14th March. The annual fixture between the premier clubs in the Sydney and Brisbane rugby competitions will kick-off at 5.30pm.

The two universities last met for the Australian crown at the start of the 2013 season after they had won their respective 2012 competitions. Sydney University triumphed at the Sydney Football Stadium on that occasion, winning 43-7. The sides have met just once since then in the runners-up spot at Crosby Park in early 2019 where the Sydneysiders prevailed again with a 47-26 victory.

As well as the ACC fixture, the day will feature other headline-worthy women’s and men’s games including the Buildcorp Super W Round match between NSW Waratahs and Western Force, SUFC Women v Central West, and the 2019 Premier Club rugby runners-up Warringah v Brothers. As the curtain raiser to the ACC match, the Classic Wallabies will take-on the Chancellor’s SUFC Legends which will see a host of former players return to the Birthplace.

SUFC President, David Lyons, is a big advocate for the Australian Club Championship. “We have been fortunate to contest the Australian Club Championships in recent years; it is a very important fixture on the club rugby calendar and we are extremely proud to be hosting this year” he said.

“Our sport continues to face many challenges, but we believe events and competitions like this are critical to the future of the game in Australia. SUFC is embracing the opportunities that come with hosting this event and will be showcasing rugby at all levels of the game from the grassroots of our Juniors and Club to the highs of representative rugby across both the men’s and women’s game. I would encourage all rugby supporters to join us on 14th March.”

Buildcorp, currently in its 29th consecutive year as Major Sponsor of SUFC, will have a special role to play on the day as they are also Major Sponsor for UQ and the Super W competition. Buildcorp Managing Director Tony Sukkar AM said:

“Buildcorp is honoured to be supporting a day featuring ‘men and women at work’ in rugby and community. This grassroots rugby community that embodies the true Spirit of Rugby and we are thrilled to see our sponsored teams Sydney Uni and UQ rugby headlining the 2020 Club Championships.

“The Buildcorp Super W Round 5 match at the event is particularly significant. Buildcorp’s sponsorship of this competition aims to rebalance the pathway opportunities for the women’s game. We now see clubs standing their men and women side-by-side to share the pride in the jersey as their ‘business as usual’.”

Match timings

SUFC Women v Central West – 12pm

NSW / QLD Premier Club runners-up – Warringah v Brothers – 1.30pm

Buildcorp Super W – NSW v Western Force – 3.30pm

Classic Wallabies v SUFC Chancellor’s Legends – 5pm 

Buildcorp Australian Club Championship – Sydney Uni v Uni of Queensland – 5.30pm 

SUFC will also be running a free coaching clinic for boys and girls aged 8-12 years from 2.45pm-3.30pm on The Square. They will be taught some basic rugby skills and techniques, but most importantly they will have lots of fun! All under 18s also receive free entry to the match. 

We encouraged you to book tickets in advance to save time and money on the day, you can purchase tickets now via this link- 

Australian Club Championship history

The Australian Club Championship was first contested in 1974. But the regular scheduling was abandoned in 1993 when the NSW Rugby Union insisted on playing each match in Sydney, at Concord Oval, rather than on a rotating basis.

After winning the Sydney premierships in 2005 and 2006, Sydney University Football Club pushed for the Australian Championship to be revived by challenging West Brisbane Bulldogs for the 2006 title.

The Sydneysiders duly won that encounter 36-5 in Brisbane and successfully defended the title the following year when they defeated the 2007 Brisbane premiers Sunnybank 24-0.

But SUFC’s shot at a third consecutive Australian Club Championship in 2008 imploded at ANZ Stadium when Brisbane’s East Tigers turned in a stunning second half to win 38-31.

Brothers went on to defeat Sydney University 36-26 to claim the 2009 championship and now have six ACCs to their belt. Randwick lead the way with seven, while Sydney Uni have four titles when they claimed back to back trophies in 2013 and 2014.