Following Wednesday’s successful launch of the 2018 Aon University Sevens Series on campus at the University of Sydney, the University’s inagural Aon 7s team is looking toward Round 1 of the domestic tournament this weekend in Hobart. 

The opening round of the ten-team, five-round series – featuring Sydney University for the first time, this year – will be hosted at the University of Tasmania from August 25-26. Here, the team will play for the first time outside of pre-tournament trial games.

The 24-strong squad, led by Head Coach, James Barkell and Captain, Olivia White, has undergone extensive preperations ahead of the series start.

Running two on-field sessions per week, coupled with strength and conditioning in the University’s high performance gym, the new group has worked hard to improve their cohesion, fitness and conditioning week-in, week-out. 

Former basketballer and Sydney University Captain, Olivia White (who played for the University of Tasmania in the 2017 series) says Rugby Sevens was a “natural stepping stone” for her after seeing Australia win gold at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

“Coming from a basketball background, the physicality of sevens really plays to my body type,” she said. “I’m super excited for this series after such a long period off, and for this weekend.” 

Pictured: University of Queensland representative, University of Melbourne representative, Josephine Sukkar (Principal & Co-Owner of Buildorp) and University of Sydney Captain, Olivia White at the 2018 series launch.

This week, head coach James Barkell confirmed the 12 players set to travel for Round 1 of the series: 

  1. Tilly Vaughan Fowler
  2. Barbara Waddell (VC)
  3. Jordan Parsonage
  4. Liv White (C)
  5. Claudia Bell
  6. Chantelle Meill
  7. Sydney Gregson
  8. Freya Clayhill (VC)
  9. Kobe Dymock 
  10. Ash Quinlan
  11. Jakiya Whitfeld
  12. Emma Wade

The University of Sydney will face Griffith University on Saturday 25 August at 10am, followed by Bond University at 11.40am and the University of New England at 1.40pm.

The following day they will take on the University of Canberra at 10am before the round moves into finals. 

Be sure to follow our coverage of the University of Sydney’s performance at the 2018 Aon University Sevens Series HERE and see results as they come through HERE. Games will also be available live via