Sydney University had to settle for third overall at the 2019 Aon Uni 7s tournament after a fifth-placed finish in Canberra in the final round over the weekend, as the University of Queensland continued their reign at the top to win the title.

It’s the highest finish Sydney Uni have achieved in their two years in the tournament, improving on a fourth-placed effort in last year’s five-round event.

Leading into the final round, Sydney Uni needed to claim back-to-back gold medals, having won in the previous round in Adelaide, and were counting on UQ to finish as low as fourth, although their rivals managed another first placing.

Across the event, Sydney Uni managed to finish third in Brisbane, fourth on the Gold Coast, first in Adelaide and fifth in Canberra.

Meanwhile, the champions UQ made the gold medal match on every occasion, winning two and losing two to top the table.

Wallaroos captain Grace Hamilton was named in the 2019 Dream Team, while Aussie 7s star Jakiya Whitfeld, who was named last year’s Player of the Series, was a standout scoring machine but missed selection after sitting out for two of the rounds.

Mentions must also go out to Emily Chancellor, Olivia White, Piper Duck, Nina Vistisen, Freya Clayhills, Lauren Murty and Shannon Parry who all made regular appearances, while Andie Robinson, Barbara Waddell, Claire Woolmington, Claudia McLaren, Emma Wade, Jemima McCalman, Jordan Parsonage and Tilly Vaughan-Fowler all made contributions throughout the tournament.

Congratulations to the entire squad, coaching and support staff who helped make the USYD’s Aon Uni 7s campaign an even better one in 2019.

See more of our coverage of the Students’ campaign HERE.