The University of Sydney has defeated the University of Queensland 19-5 at Graduates Oval in Adelaide following round three of the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series.

The University of Sydney left the round one champions scoreless in the first half, crossing twice with Buildcorp Wallaroo’s Iliseva Batibasaga and Emily Chancellor giving their Sydney side a 14-0 lead.

However, Pleuni Kievit struck first in the second half for the University of Queensland seeing them back in the game before Jakiya Whitfeld broke through the Queensland defence to secure Sydney’s victory.

Griffith University claimed the bronze medal following their 17-14 victory of the University of Canberra, capitalising on two yellow cards after losing both Rachel Crothers and Skye Churchill late in the second half. 

In a round of tight finishes, the University of Adelaide also defeated the University of Technology, Sydney 24-21 in one of the days closest matches while a try was the only difference between Bond University and the University of Western Australia in their 24-19 win during the seventh play playoff.

University of Sydney Head Coach, Manuel Posadas said: “We are happy for the girls, they worked really hard to get to this point, and they deserved the win.

“Sevens is a game that you never know, we have been in similar positions in previous rounds, and we’ve lost games by two points and been out of the finals.

“Heading into Canberra we won’t be preparing anything new. Instead, we will look for consistency from the girls, and play our style of footy each match.”

Invaluable competition points will be on the line when the series heads to the University of Canberra for the final round on October 26-27 with every match to be broadcast LIVE on

2019 Aon University Sevens Series Ladder:
1. University of Queensland, 56 points 
2. Griffith University, 50 points
3. Sydney University, 50 points
4. University of Canberra, 38 points
5. University of Technology Sydney, 36 points
6. University of Adelaide, 36 points
7. Bond University, 22 points
8. University of Melbourne, 18 points
9. University of Western Australia, 14 points
10. University of New England, 10 points