During Wednesday night’s jersey presentation, Sydney University unveiled their star-studded round one line-up for the 2019 Aon Uni 7s tournament to be held in Brisbane this weekend.

The opening round of the ten-team, four-round series will be hosted at the University of Brisbane from September 14-15, where Sydney University will look to improve on their fourth-placed finish in its inaugural season in 2018.

The 23-strong squad, led by head coach Manuel Posadas, have undergone extensive preperations ahead of the series start, including on-field and strength and conditioning sessions.

This week, Posadas confirmed the 12 players set to travel for round one of the series: 

  1. Piper Duck
  2. Shannon Parry
  3. Jakiya Whitfeld
  4. Nina Vistisen
  5. Freya Clayhills
  6. Lauren Murty
  7. Emma Wade
  8. Jemima McCalman
  9. Andie Robinson
  10. Grace Hamilton
  11. Emily Chancellor
  12. Olivia White

University of Sydney will face University of Adelaide on Saturday 14th September at 11.20am, followed by University of Melbourne at 1pm and Bond University at 3pm.

The following day they will take on defending champions Griffith University at 9.20am before the round moves into finals. 

Be sure to follow our coverage of the University of Sydney’s performance at the 2019 Aon University Sevens Series HERE and see results as they come through HERE. Games will also be available live via rugby.com.au.