Sydney University Colts will travel to Ourimbah Rugby Park on the 4th of March to go head-to-head with the CCRU Representative teams in the lead up to them competing in the top tiers of the NSW Country Championships. Coaches Stewart Jenkins and Brett Marchant will be eager to benchmark their teams against a strong opposition and in Sydney University Colts they will get their wish.

Rugby Union on the Central Coast is preparing for its 48th season and the local competition has grown enormously on all levels and if record participation levels for Rugby Union in the NSW Country is any indicator, 2017 will be the biggest. From the dominance of the Kariong and Avoca dynasties to the emergence of Woy Woy and Ourimbah as recent Premiers it finally came back into balance when the Junior Juggernaut of the Terrigal Trojans matriculated a team to usurp them all in 2016.

Sydney University Football Club was established in 1863 (SUFC1863) and is the birthplace of Rugby Union in Australia and the fifth oldest Rugby Union club in the world. In producing 73 Super Rugby players and dozens of Wallabies since the game went professional the club has been rewarded with a string of Shute Shield premierships and Club Championships over the past decade.

The fixture represents a wonderful showcase of elite Rugby Union players that are 17-20 years old and will comprise players that will go and on and play for the Waratahs and Wallabies. With all Central Coast Rugby Clubs actively recruiting for U19 athletes there will be no better advertisement for the game than this fixture at Ourimbah. Prospective players are encouraged to contact their local Rugby Union Clubs to get involved.

To commemorate the event a special presentation to CCRU President and NSW Country Director Mr Larry Thomson who was recently awarded the Order of Australia for his significant contribution to Rugby Union in the NSW Country.

FREE ENTRY – Sausages, Steaks, Snakes, Frogs and Sherbets on sale from Ourimbah Rugby Club on the day.

  • 4.00pm – CCRU Seniors vs Sydney University Colts – 1st XV
  • 2.15pm – CCRU U20s vs Sydney University Colts – 2nd XV

Gabriel Enright (3rd Colts Coach) 

The Colts squad travelling to Ourimbah Rugby Park is: 

Osbourne, Tom

Hasegawa, Sean

Spencer, Jay

Suttor, Rory

Malifa, Sydney

Gabriel, Atkinson

Josh Sheridan

Basson, Milan

Calavassy, Daniel

Poletto, Daniel

MacDonald, Alex

Potter, Harry

Renton, Edward

King, Ed

Tamwoy, Nathaniel

Connor Grindal

Lilomaiava, Tim

Nigel Zhang

Tuynmann, Harry

Webb, Matthew

Natapu, Lachlan

Calavassy, Patrick

Taufai, Raymond

Chadwick, Angus

Wennerbom, William

Alcorn, Riley

Hardie, Josh

Crocker, Harry

Lawther, Silas

Armstrong, James