On Saturday March 14th at the University of Western Sydney Hawkesbury Campus, Sydney University Football Club participated in the Laffan Cup. 

The Laffan Cup is an inter-university rugby union competition that is held annually by the UWS Hawkesbury RFC. Universities from Australia wide are invited to enter teams to contest for competition honours, with the following clubs competing this year:

– University of Western Sydney (UWS) 
– Newcastle University 
– Sydney University 
– University of New South Wales 
– Macquarie University

Following confident wins in the two preliminary rounds, SUFC then took on UWS in the Grand Final.

Leading just 10-5 at half-time, SUFC came out in the second half with profound level of enthusiasm to finish off their Laffan Cup experience, keeping UWS scoreless to eventually be awarded champions over UWS with a 20-5 scoreline. 

A huge congratulations to all involved, including all players, managers, coaches and supporters. An incredible achievement in a competition that SUFC holds close to its heart. Well done – all at SUFC are very proud!

Laffan Cup Results @ UWS Hawkesbury Campus, Resources Rd Richmond

9:45pm – Sydney Uni (51) def. Uni Norths (0)
12:45pm – Sydney Uni (19) def. Newcastle (7)
4:15pm – Sydney Uni (20) def. UWS (5)