Sydney University’s run of Shute Shield finals appearances, dating back to 1998, ended on Saturday when they were edged out of sixth place on the ladder on a for-and-against count with Eastwood.

Realistically, the Students’ run came adrift in rounds 15 and when they lost 35-20 to Warringah.

Despite finishing the competition proper with a 27-25 result over Gordon and an 80-31 win over Parramatta, they were relying on Eastwood’s results.

Manly won the Shute Shield minor premiership for 2017 with 14 wins, a draw and three losses – and 16 bonus points – to finish on 74 points, with Southern Districts (66), Warringah (65), Randwick (64), Northern Suburbs (60) and Eastwood (55) making up the top six.

While the news was grim for First Grade, SUFC’s lower grades and Colts all made it through to the finals and helped the club to a 14th consecutive Club Championship.

SUFC’s Second Grade finished second on the Colin Caird Shield ladder on 65 points behind Eastwood (68), with Manly (64), Southern Districts (60), Warringah (59) and Randwick (57) making up the top six.

Eastwood also headed the Third Grade Henderson Shield ladder on 74 points, with Warringah (73), Sydney University (66), Manly (62), Gordon (62) and Randwick (62) making up the six.

Sydney University claimed the Fourth Grade Henderson Cup minor premiership on 78 points, with Northern Suburbs (72), Eastwood (65), Gordon (61), Warringah (57) and Randwick (53) making up the top six.

Sydney University’s First Grade Colts side went through the competition undefeated to claim the win. w. McMahon Shield minor premiership on 88 points,  with Randwick (75), Eastwood (61), Eastern Suburbs (61), Southern Districts (57) and Warringah (55) making up the top six.

First Grade Colts racked up 860 points in 18 rounds, earning 16 bonus points, while conceding 241 points.    

Randwick headed the Second Grade Colts Shell Trophy ladder on 83 points, with Eastern Suburbs (80), Sydney University (76), Northern Suburbs (72), Southern Districts (59) and Gordon (47) making up the six.

Sydney University won the Third Grade Colts Bill Simpson Shield minor premiership on 79 points, with Eastwood (65), Randwick (60), Eastern Suburbs (56), Warringah (56) and Parramatta (54) making up the top six.