The Melbourne Rebels have named a strong team to travel to Perth to face the Western Force in their World Series clash on Saturday night at nib Stadium.

An experienced pack features the likes of veteran Wallaby hooker Nathan Charles, locks Matt Philip and Sam Jeffries, a backrow of Angus Cottrell, Ross Haylett-Petty and Richard Hardwick, while Billy Meakes and captain Tom English fill the midfield in a new look backline.

The invitational tournament has also given starting opportunities to Tom Moloney, Pone Fa’amausili, Tayler Adams, Harrison Goddard, Henry Hutchison and Kiti Ratu.

Experienced flyhalf Jack Debreczeni returns for his first start in four weeks and will line up at fullback.

Prop Jermaine Ainsley and scrumhalf Michael Ruru – who both started in the Rebels recent away win against the Blues in Auckland – are also included on the bench. 

In addition, the Rebels welcome Shute Shield stars Matt Gibbons, Nick Champion de Crespigny, Rohan O’Regan and Jack Johnson, as well as 2018 Melbourne Rebels Brisbane 10s squad member Andrew Tuala – all will start among the reserves.

Coach Dave Wessels will share the reigns of coaching responsibilities with former England and British and Irish Lions international, Geoff Parling

Melbourne Rebels Head Coach, Dave Wessels said: “We are really looking forward to a special night.”

“I know many of the players and I are excited about returning to Perth to play in front of family and against many old friends.

“We’ll certainly be trying to do our part to put on an exciting game. It promises to be a night to remember.’

World Series Rugby, Match 3
Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels
Saturday 9 June, 2018
nib Stadium, Perth
Kick off: 8.00pm (WST), 10.00pm (AEST)

Melbourne Rebels team vs Force on Saturday 9 June, 2018 at Perth, Australia:

1. Tom Moloney

2. Nathan Charles

3. Pone Fa’amausili

4. Sam Jeffries

5. Matt Philip

6. Ross Haylett–Petty

7. Richard Hardwick

8. Angus Cottrell

9. Harrison Goddard

10. Tayler Adams

11. Henry Hutchinson

12. Billy Meakes

13. Tom English (capt.)

14. Kiti Ratu

15. Jack Debreczeni



16. Matt Gibbons

17. Andrew Tuala

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Nick Champion de Crespigny

20. Rohan O’Regan

21. Jack Johnson

22. Michael Ruru

23. Hunter Paisami

24. Jack McGregor

Coaches: Dave Wessels and Geoff Parling