Australian Rugby Union

NSW had an unbeaten run throughout the tournament defeating Southern States and Country Regions, Tonga and finally Queensland in the final match of the tournament.

It was an exciting final round of games with three teams still able to claim the Championship pending other results, however it was NSW who managed to continue their strong form to claim the title for 2014.

The Championship was an excellent opportunity for players to impress National selectors before an Extended Australian Under 20s squad will be named next week to play Fiji and Samoa at Bond University in Queensland in April.

General Manager Development Pathways, Ben Whitaker was very satisfied with the standard of competition across the tournament.

“The National Under 20s Championship has seen a high standard of competition from each and every game,” Mr Whitaker said.

“It was also great to see Tonga compete in the tournament. Exposing our next generation of Australian talent to international competitors only serves to enhance their development.”

For full article please click here.

Day One (March 22)
Queensland 27 defeated Tonga 17
New South Wales 39 defeated Southern States and Country Regions 16

Day Two (March 24)
New South Wales 40 defeated Tonga 8
Southern States and Country Regions 16 defeated Queensland 11

Day Three (March 26)
Southern States and Country Regions 55 defeated Tonga 5
New South Wales 31 defeated Queensland 18

Champions: New South Wales

SUFC Representatives: Henry Clunies-Ross, Folau Fainga’a, Jack McCalman, Angus Pulver, Tomas Robertson, Matthew Sandell, Cameron Skelton, Jonathan Vaux and Mitchell Whiteley