Arguably the most prestigious award up for grabs at the Intrust Super Shute Shield Awards Night, The Ken Catchpole Medal is awarded to the player deemed best and fairest on field after 18 rounds. The tournament’s referees are responsible for the voting and vote on a 3-2-1 basis over the course of the regular season.

Ken Catchpole, regarded as one Australia’s greatest half-backs ever produced, appeared in 67 games for Australia including 27 tests, 13 of which he captained. A Randwick Rugby Club legend, Catchpole was born in 1939, a natural athlete, he made his New South Wales debut against the Lions in 1959, aged just 19 and after only playing eight first grade games.

At the age of 21, he became the second youngest player since World War Two to Captain the Wallabies, and just the third player to claim the honour on his test debut since 1945.

The Scots College old boy amassed over 180 games for Randwick and was an inaugural member of the Sports Australia Hall of Fame in 1985. He was then one of the original five inductees into the Australian Rugby Union Hall of Fame in 2005. Just four years ago, in 2013, he became the 66th player inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Following his career, which was cut short through injury at just 28, Catchpole became a regular voice on ABC’s Rugby coverage and served as Vice-President and President of the New South Wales Rugby Union.

Ken Catchpole sadly passed away aged 78 on December 22, 2017, after a long battle with illness.


Gary Bautz – Northern Suburbs

Marcus Carbone – Southern Districts

Myles Dorrian – Warringah

Denny Godinet – Southern Districts

Adrian Hall – Manly

Josh Holmes – Warringah

James Kane – Sydney University

Will McDonnell – Sydney University (pictured)

Kelly Meafua – West Harbour

Tom Murphy – Eastwood

Adrian Musico – Parramatta

Tom Preece – Warringah

Hugh Roach Eastwood

The Ken Catchpole Medal recipient will be announced at the Awards Night on the 4th of September 2018.