The Aon University Sevens Series will kick off in mid-September this year as the ten teams vie to be crowned 2019 Series Champions. 

Kicking off at the home of the “Red Heavies”, the University of Queensland, the Series will then head down the road to Bond University, Gold Coast before heading to the University of Adelaide, with the final round to be played in the nation’s capital at the University of Canberra.  

This year, will see national team players re-join the competition’s ranks, bringing the likes of Aussie 7s stars, Charlotte Caslick, Ellia Green, Emma Tonegato and Sharni Williams to Australia’s domestic Sevens competition.  

The Aussie 7s player allocation will be confirmed closer to the season commencing. 

Now in its third season, the Aon University Sevens Series continues to provide a national pathway for elite Women’s Sevens talent with the competition being a proven pathway for players including Page McGregor, Rhiannon Byers, Lily Dick, Lauren Brown, Samantha Treherne and Sariah Paki.  

Rugby Australia High Performance Manager, Sevens, Scott Bowen said: “We’re looking forward to this season being the best yet for the Aon University Sevens Series.
“With the adjustment of the global season means that the Aussie 7s players will play again in rounds across the Series and we know that this will only serve to lift the already high standard of the competition. 
“Game time will be crucial in a massive year for Rugby Sevens and I know that there will be players keen to put their hands up to potentially earn selection in the Aussie 7s National fold. 

“For players from other sports that have thought about Rugby Sevens, this is the time to put your hand up to play in Aon University Sevens Series in what is going to be an exciting 12 months for the game.” 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach John Manenti said: “I was very impressed with the Aon University Sevens Series over the last two seasons and it was clear that there was no love lost on the field between Universities. 

“For a program to be successful we need competition for contracts, places and spots at the national level and this year’s series presents four rounds of opportunity for players and teams. 

“We have seen across the world how successful University sport is and the Aon University Sevens Series is adding an Australian chapter to that book.”  

Unisport Australia CEO, Mark Sinderberry said: “The university sector as a whole contributes significantly to elite athletes and we are excited about the fourth season of this exciting competition. 

“The Aon University Sevens Series provides a wonderful opportunity for student athletes to continue their academic and sporting pursuits.”

Rounding out the challengers in this year’s competition will be defending Series champions Griffith University, University of Queensland, Bond University (Gold Coast), University of New England, University of Sydney, University of Technology Sydney, University of Canberra, University of Melbourne, University of Adelaide and the University of Western Australia.

2019 Aon University Sevens Series 
Round 1, 14-15 September, University of Queensland
Round 2, 28-29 September, Bond University
Round 3, 12-13 October, University of Adelaide
Round 4, 26-27 October, University of Canberra