The NSW teams for this year’s new Under 19s Rugby Championship (URC) have been confirmed with the State’s top young players in the national spotlight in Canberra next month.

The URC replaces the Super Under 20s competition and kicks off at the end of September.

It’s hoped the new tournament will create a clearer pathway for players into the Junior Wallabies squad and move the season to fit better with the international Under 20s calendar, club and school rugby programmes.

“The addition of the URC competition has helped streamline the pathway for aspiring players in NSW. It provides the perfect springboard for athletes to progress to higher honours, including Junior Wallabies and also for a spot in our Generation Blue Under 20s programme,” Waratahs development coach Pat McCutcheon said.

“The URC is a fantastic platform for our young players to showcase their talent, and it is great to see players from a range of clubs. This Under 19s programme is important as it gives us the opportunity to assess the progress of our players in an intense, week-long competition,” McCutcheon said.

“We would like to thank our coaches from Shute Shield and NSW Country clubs for their support and commitment during the selection process,” he added.

The next generation of NSW players will also benefit from the knowledge of some of the State’s most experienced coaches.

NSW Country Cockatoos Head Coach Matt Thomas will lead the coaching team for the Country Under 19s side and Gordon Shute Shield Coach Adam Hill will take charge of the Sydney age grade team.

McCutcheon said the coaches will bring a range of knowledge to the teams.

The NSW teams will train at the David Phillips Sports Complex in Daceyville for three weeks in September before travelling to the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

The URC will be played from 28 September to 5 October at Tuggeranong in Canberra.

Sydney Under 19s

Jayden Burgess (Gordon)
Liam Cornish (Randwick)
Frank Cutler (Gordon)
Ben Donaldson (Randwick)
Max Douglas (Manly)
Joel Ellis (Randwick)
William Finau (Parramatta)
Fiu Gibson (Randwick)
Haitoni Hafoka (Parramatta)
Tom Hando (Eastwood)
Brooklyn Hardaker (Eastern Suburbs)
Finn Kearns-Lafolafo (Randwick)
Jack Crichton (Parramatta)
Bailey Lamb (Southern Districts)
Setefano Leavasa (Warringah)
Ciaran Loh (Sydney University)
Saul McCredie (Gordon)
Kichie Navuso (West Harbour)
Joshua Nercessian (Warringah)
Callum Quinn (Randwick)
Blake Rixon (Manly)
Maylee Semu (West Harbour)
Matthew Stead (Randwick)
Joshua Thrum (Warringah)
Terence Toomata (Eastwood)

NSW Country Under 19s

Bo Abra (Eastern Suburbs)
Jack Allen Hamilton (Newcastle)
Patrick Berryman (Dubbo)
Darcy Breen (Sydney University)
Sebastian Cameron (Northern Suburbs)
Ben Duckworth (Randwick)
Ben Houston (Randwick)
Harrison Jackson (Manly)
Will Johnston (Eastern Suburbs)
Nick Katsogiannis (Randwick)
Nathan Lawson (Southern Districts)
Jack Murray (Sydney University)
Isoa Nasilasila (Eastwood)
John Pale (Northern Suburbs)
Mike Pavlakis (Gordon)
Eddie Poolman (Sydney University)
Felix Quinn (Manly)
Henry Robertson (Sydney University) (pictured)
Luke Russo (Parramatta)
Lachlan Shelley (Eastwood)
Mitieli Tuinakauvadra (Sydney University)
Jack Walsh (Manly)
Hunter Ward (Manly)
Ben Wood (Maitland)
Yool Yool (Manly)

NSW fixtures

Pool A: NSW Country, ACT, Brisbane City, Western Australia
Pool B: Sydney, Barbarians, Queensland Country, Victoria

Date Match Kick-Off Time
Saturday 29 September Sydney v Barbarians 1030
Queensland Country v Victoria 1230
Brisbane v Western Australia 1430
NSW Country v ACT 1630
Monday 1 October Queensland Country v Barbarians 1030
Brisbane v ACT 1230
Sydney v Victoria 1430
NSW Country v WA 1630
Wednesday 3 October Victoria v Barbarians 1030
ACT v Western Australia 1230
Sydney v Queensland Country 1430
Brisbane v NSW Country 1630
Friday 5 October Pool A (4th) v Pool B (4th) TBC
Pool A (3rd) v Pool B (3rd) TBC
Pool A (2nd) v Pool B (2nd) TBC
Pool A (1st) v Pool B (1st) TBC

Management teams

NSW Country
Head Coach: Matt Thomas (NSW Country Cockatoos Head Coach)
Assistant Coach: Chris Delooze (Scots College Rugby Coach)
Manager: Damien Ferguson (Eastwood Colts Manager)
Physio: Michael Torbica (Central Coast Mariners Academy)
Strength & Conditioning Coaches: Kieran Hall and Shane Ball (Sydney University)

Sydney City
Head Coach: Adam Hill (Gordon Coach)
Assistant Coach: Mike Ruthven (Warringah Rats Assistant Coach)
Manager: Randy Basra (Parramatta Manager)
Physio: Michael Messina (Cronulla Sharks Academy)
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Darrell O’Neill (Sydney Swans Academy)