Qantas Wallabies Head Coach Michael Cheika has named a 39-man training squad ahead of the highly-anticipated 2016 England Series which kicks off at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on Saturday 11 June.

The squad will assemble at the Qantas Wallabies training base in Caloundra on Sunday (29 May), the same location that was used for Cheika’s initial training camp ahead of the 2015 season.

Cheika indicated his squad is in for a torrid preparation ahead of the historic three-Test series against the reigning Six Nations champions.

“We’ve been working with an initial squad of 60 players we identified, which has been reduced to 39 for this camp. We’ll trim that number down to 30 for each Test, so competition for spots is everything.

“Our first week in camp will target a high intensity training attitude, building on combinations within that environment. We want to build on the identity we’ve worked hard on establishing over the past 18 months.”

Cheika has called on four internationally-based players for the initial camp, including former Qantas Wallabies skipper James Horwill (Harlequins, UK), Queensland Reds signee Leroy Houston (Bath, UK), France-based prop Sekope Kepu (Bordeaux) and newly re-signed NSW Waratahs flyer Taqele Naiyaravoro (Glasgow).

The 39-man squad also includes 10 players uncapped at Test level, including Reds backs Nick Frisby, Karmichael Hunt, Eto Nabuli and Samu Kerevi, Western Force fullback Dane Haylett-Petty and lock Adam Coleman, Brumbies scrumhalf Joe Powell and forwards Alan Ala’alatoa and Rory Arnold, as well as Reds flanker Leroy Houston.

The squad also includes 23 members of the Qantas Wallabies’ 2015 Rugby World Cup squad.

“We have selected this squad with one eye on the now and one on the future and there’s a huge focus on building depth within the squad.

“For example, we want to work with three tight fives and four number 7s, looking to build that competition within that type of combination,” said Cheika.

Qantas Wallabies 39-man training squad for the 2016 England Series (in alphabetical order):

Allan Ala’alatoa (Brumbies)
Rory Arnold (Brumbies)
Sam Carter (Brumbies)**
Adam Coleman (Western Force)
Scott Fardy (Brumbies)
Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs)**
Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs)**
Nick Frisby (Queensland Reds)
Liam Gill (Queensland Reds)
James Hanson (Melbourne Rebels)
Mike Harris (Melbourne Rebels)
Dane Haylett-Petty (Western Force)
Greg Holmes (Queensland Reds)
Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs)
Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs)
James Horwill (Harlequins)
Leroy Houston (Queensland Reds)
Karmichael Hunt (Queensland Reds)
Sekope Kepu (Bordeaux)
Samu Kerevi (Queensland Reds)
Tevita Kuridrani (Brumbies)
Christian Leali’ifano (Brumbies)
Ben McCalman (Western Force)**
Sean McMahon (Melbourne Rebels)
Stephen Moore (c) (Brumbies)
Luke Morahan (Western Force)
Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs)**
Eto Nabuli (Queensland Reds)
Taqele Naiyaravoro (NSW Waratahs)
Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs)
Nick Phipps (NSW Waratahs)**
David Pocock (Brumbies)
Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs)
Joe Powell (Brumbies)
Rob Simmons (Queensland Reds)
Scott Sio (Brumbies)
Will Skelton (NSW Waratahs)**
James Slipper (Queensland Reds)
Toby Smith (Melbourne Rebels)

** SUFC Representative