Illiseva Batibasaga scores at the SUFG against Campbelltown in 2017

Experienced international Ash Hewson will captain the NSW Women’s Rugby Team in the opening round of the inaugural Super W competition on Saturday.

NSW Women’s take on arch-rivals Queensland Women’s XV in a blockbuster double-header at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane

Coach Rob Baumann said the team will benefit from Hewson’s experience.

“She was Sydney captain last year and has led the Wallaroos before as well so her knowledge and experience will be immense for us this year. In the two vice captains we have Cobie-Jane who is quite vocal on the field and Inge who I think will provide that calming influence.”

Hewson is one of four players in the starting line-up who represented Australia at the 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup. The others are props Emily Robinson and Eve Horomia, and flanker Grace Hamilton.

Baumann said kicking off the campaign against the traditional rivals will add something special to the opening round.

“We know that the rivalry is strong and that will be on display again on Saturday. We have a team of experienced internationals and young, up-and-coming players, which is great for the game,” Baumann said.

Saturday’s match kicks off at 4pm (Brisbane time) and will be televised  on FoxSports.

NSW Waratahs Super W side to play QLD:

1. Emily Robinson (Warringah)

2. Tasmin Sheppard (Sydney University)

3. Evelyn Horomia (Parramatta)

4. Inge Visser (Vice Captain, Warringah)

5. Ana Sio (Parramatta)

6. Grace Hamilton (Sydney University)

7. Ariana Kaiwai (Blacktown)

8. Laura Devereux (Warringah)

9. Cobie-Jane Morgan (Vice Captain, Warringah)

10. Chloe Leaupepe (Warringah)

11. Shanice Parker (Warringah)

12. Katrina Barker (Newcastle)

13. Crystal Maguire (Warringah)

14. Atasi Lafai (Parramatta)

15. Ashleigh Hewson (Captain, Sydney University)

16 Sarah Laman (Warringah)

17. Melissa Fatu (Parramatta)

18. Nancy Vaiaku (Parramatta)

19. Natalie Maclarn (Warringah)

20. Fi Jones (Sydney University)

21. Illiseva Batibasaga (Sydney University)

22. Kirrily Laws (Sydney University)

23. Josephine Falesita (Parramatta)