Australian U20s coach Simon Cron has named an extended training squad to attend a camp on the Gold Coast next month to begin preparations for this year’s U20s World Championships in Georgia. 

Cron has selected a preliminary squad of 48 players, who have impressed in the opening rounds of the Super U20s Championship, while it also contains four members of the Australian Men’s Sevens squad. 

“This camp will be the first opportunity we have to get content across to our players, as well as skill evaluation and execution. It will be a high intensity camp and we need to tick the box on a lot of critical stuff,” Cron said. 

“We will be putting guys into different scenarios and seeing how they play as well as start to develop our culture and Identity as a group. 

“The door is still open for players in the Super U20s Championship as we are always watching and looking for players who will suit the way we want to play the game.” 

14 players from last year’s campaign have been named in the squad, alongside Aussie 7s speedster Henry Hutchison who will get his first opportunity in the Australia U20s, after missing the 2016 season due to commitments with Sevens program. 

Australia will host the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship on the Gold Coast against Fiji, Samoa and New Zealand, kicking off on April 28. 

Australia U20s Extended Squad: 

Harry Hoopert (QLD), 
Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW 

Cody Walker, NSW 
Sham Vui, WA 
Harry Chapman, NSW 
Gavin Luka, QLD 
Vaauli Faamausili, VIC 
Angus Wagner, ACT 
Jordan Uelese, Melbourne Rebels 
Phil Bradford, NSW 
Efi Maafu, QLD 
Tom Horton, NSW 
Harry Hockings, QLD 
Angus Blyth, QLD 
Ryan McCauley, NSW Waratahs 
Esei Haangana, VIC 
Darcy Swain, ACT 
Angus Scott-Young, Queensland Reds 
Max Girdler, NSW 
Lachlan Swinton, NSW 
Reece Hewat, QLD 
Rob Leota, Melbourne Rebels 
Rob Valetini, Brumbies 
Liam Wright, QLD 
Angus Allen, ACT 
Brodie Leber, ACT 

Harrison Goddard, VIC 
Harry Nucifora, QLD 
Ryan Lonergan, ACT 
Theo Strang, NSW 
Tate McDermott, Aussie 7s 
Liam McNamara, Aussie 7s 
Hamish Stewart, QLD 
Nick Jooste, Brumbies 
Tony Hunt, QLD 
Sione Tuipulotu, Melbourne Rebels 
Izaia Perese, Queensland Reds 
Dylan Riley, Queensland Reds 
Esere Chee Kam, NSW 
Len Ikitau, ACT 
Henry Hutchison, Aussie 7s 
Simon Kennewell, Aussie 7s 
Jayden Ngamanu, Queensland Reds 
Angelo Leaupepe, VIC 
Will Eadie, QLD 
Jack Maddocks, Melbourne Rebels 
Clay Uyen, WA 
Semisi Tupou, VIC