The Australian U20s Squad for the 2017 World Rugby U20s Championship in Georgia has been named, and features several of the big names from the NSW Gen Blue squad that starred in the Super U20s Grand Final earlier this year.

The 28-man squad has been boosted by big name players such as Henry Hutchison and Simon Kennewell from the Australian Sevens program, as well as Super Rugby-capped Izaia Perese, Sione Tuipulotu, Jack Maddocks and Shambecklar Vui.

NSW Gen Blue U20s Head Coach Pat McCutcheon was thrilled for the selected players ahead of the upcoming tournament in Georgia.

“All the players named in the squad have earned the right to be there based off their hard work put in throughout the Super U20s season and the recent Oceania U20s Championship”, said McCutcheon.

“It is a highly competitive training squad that hosts a tonne of experience, and is the benchmark for our EPD (NSW Elite Youth Player Development) players to strive towards in terms of U20s competition.”

From the Gen Blue side, front rower Cody Walker returns to the fold alongside Harry Johnson-Holmes, who was a stand out in the Oceania 20s Championship.

Towering lock Ryan McCauley will make his second appearance at the World Rugby U20s Championship after his solid performance in set piece throughout the matches against Samoa, Fiji and New Zealand earlier this month.

Joining McCauley in the engine room is backrower Lachlan Swinton, who represented the NSW Waratahs at the inaugural Brisbane 10’s tournament back in February.

To increase the depth within the playing squad, an extra contingent have been invited to attend the preparation camp in Canberra to further their development in the 20s regime. Among those select few are prop Harry Chapman, who featured in all three Oceania U20s Championship matches, as well as halfback Theo Strang and winger James Ramm.

The squad will come together at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra on Wednesday May 10 for a final camp before Australia heads to Tbilisi, Georgia for the tournament. 


Cody Walker, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Easts
Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University
Shambecklar Vui, Western Force, University of WA
Gavin Luka, Queensland U20s, Bond University 
Jordan Uelese, Melbourne Rebels, Melbourne University 
Efi Maafu, Queensland U20s, Wests
Sama Malolo, Western Force U20s, Wests Scarborough
Ryan McCauley, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Easts
Harry Hockings, Queensland U20s, University of Queensland 
Angus Blyth, Queensland U20s, Bond University 
Angus Scott-Young, Queensland U20s, University of Queensland 
Liam Wright, Queensland U20s, Easts
Reece Hewat, Queensland U20s, Norths 
Lachlan Anderson, Australian Sevens
Rob Valetini, Brumbies, Wests 
Lachlan Swinton, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University
Harry Nucifora, Queensland U20s, Bond University 
Harrison Goddard, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Randwick 
Hamish Stewart , Queensland Reds, Bond University 
Liam McNamara, Australian Sevens, Sunnybank 
Sione Tuipulotu, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Southern Districts 
Nick Jooste, Brumbies U20s, Wests  
Izaia Perese, Queensland Reds, Easts 
Jack Maddocks, Melbourne Rebels, Powerhouse 
Semisi Tupou, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Box Hill
Dylan Riley, Queensland U20s, Bond University
Henry Hutchison, Australian Sevens, Randwick
Simon Kennewell, Australian Sevens Randwick 


Harry Chapman, Vaauli Faamausili, Angus Allan, Theo Strang, Alex Horan, Isaac Lucas, Tony Hunt, Will Eadie, James Ramm and Jayden Ngamanu.