– 38-man squad confirmed for 2016, one additional fly-half to be announced

– Five NSW players elevated to core playing squad

– 23 players retained from 2015 squad

– 14 players with international Test cap experience

– 33 out of the 38 players in the 2016 squad born in NSW

The NSW Waratahs have announced their Waratahs squad for 2016, with a total of 23 players have being retained from the 2015 NSW Waratahs squad.

This year’s squad features 14 players with international experience, including 13 Wallabies and former All Black, Zac Guildford. 

Guildford will line up alongside the likes of former NRL speedster, Reece Robinson and superstars Israel Folau, Kurtley Beale and Rob Horne in the backs offering a mouth-watering variety of possible combinations for the Waratahs’ coaching staff this year.

Another fly-half is also set to be added to the team ahead of the 2016 Super Rugby season.

Angus Ta’avao, with 48 Super Rugby caps under his belt, will be a welcome addition to the Waratahs heavyweight leaders including Dean Mumm, Will Skelton, Michael Hooper, Benn Robinson, Paddy Ryan and Dave Dennis.

Guildford, Robinson and Ta’avao, together with young Australian Sevens star, Brad Wilkin were some of the key signings for the Waratahs ahead of 2016. 

In addition, top local NSW talent, Hugh Roach, Andrew Kellaway, Jack Dempsey, Jim Stewart and Ned Hanigan, have been elevated to this year’s core playing squad.

In total, 33 players out of the 38 players were born in NSW, with most stand-out performers from NSW rugby development pathways, including the Shute Shield, NRC, NSW Under 20s, Australian Under 20s, NSW Schools, Australian Schoolboys and Waratahs Gen Blue development side. 

The NSW Waratahs kick off their 2016 Super Rugby season on Saturday 27 February against the Queensland Reds at Allianz Stadium, where all eight of the NSW Waratahs home matches will be held in 2016. NSW Waratahs memberships are available at www.waratahs.com.au/membership . 

The 2016 NSW Waratahs playing squad:

Benn Robinson
Paddy Ryan
Jeremy Tilse
Angus Ta’avao (2015 signing)
Matt Sandell (elevated from 2015 development squad to extended playing squad)
Tom Robertson (extended playing squad)
Cameron Orr (development squad)
Tatafu Polota-Nau 
Tolu Latu
Hugh Roach (elevated from 2015 extended playing squad to core playing squad)
Will Skelton 
Dean Mumm 
Sam Lousi
Senio Toleafoa (supplementary squad)
Ryan McCauley (supplementary squad)
David Dennis 
Jack Dempsey (elevated from 2015 supplementary squad to core playing squad)
Michael Hooper 
Jed Holloway 
Wycliff Palu (newly re-signed)
Brad Wilkin (2015 signing)
Ned Hanigan (elevated from 2015 extended playing squad to core playing squad)

Nick Phipps 
Matt Lucas (newly re-signed)
Jake Gordon (extended playing squad)
Bernard Foley 
(Additional fly-half to be announced)
Andrew Deegan (supplementary squad)
Kurtley Beale 
David Horwitz
Jim Stewart (elevated from 2015 supplementary squad to core playing squad)
Matt Carraro
Rob Horne 
Zac Guildford (2015 signing)
Andrew Kellaway (elevated from 2015 extended playing squad to core playing squad)
Reece Robinson (2015 signing)
Henry Clunies-Ross (elevated from 2015 development squad to supplementary squad)
Harry Jones (supplementary squad)
Israel Folau